7 Stages in Accepting the Life Change Called Divorce

Divorce is a life altering process. When you got married you did so for a reason, your spouse was the love of your life and you wanted to grow old together, start a family, be a union. Everything was eternal bliss.Divorce

And then you hear the dreadful words “I want a divorce”. The world stops turning, your life is shattered, Pandora’s Box of emotions is opened. Now what? And how do you move on?

Sometimes there are really good reasons to see if the marriage is salvageable; children, joint business, marriage history. And sometimes divorce is the best solution, if not the only solution. The trick is then to come to acceptance. Going through the emotions is healthy and in the long run will help you rebuild your life and go on to better things.

There are 7 stages to start living your life to the fullest after divorce;

  1. Denial and Disbelief
  2. Anger
  3. Resistance and Defiance
  4. Grief and Depression
  5. Acceptance
  6. Embrace Your New Life!
  7. Start Dating

In the next few posts I will talk about how to go through all of the stages, it is healthy to do so and move on to the rest of your life. Divorce is the end of 1 part of your life, but a whole new part is just beginning with endless opportunities. Don’t deny yourself the chance to live your life to its fullest.

It is important to realize that stages 1 through 5 are often intertwined. Sometimes there is an isolated emotion, whereas at other times you feel more than 1 emotion at the same time. They’re also not necessarily in order of appearance. Perhaps you’re depressed before you get angry, or you are beginning to accept the situation only to fall back into where you would like to bargain to safe your marriage.

Emotions  can come on strong, but time does heal all wounds and your feelings become less strong. There is no time frame, men tend to ‘get over it’ quicker then women, but not necessarily. Give yourself time, go with the flow.

Flow with whatever is happening and let your mind be free. Stay centered by accepting whatever you are doing. This is the ultimate.” – Chuang Tzu

Next post is here.

I'd love to hear from you!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s